Leave a comment

Home time!

While there is still a lot of the trip to post about, today the actual trip comes to an end. Derek and I are sitting here in the Vilnius Airport, determined to come back to this lovely little country. In fact, many of the places we are happy to revisit: Beijing, Lake Baikal (but not Irkutsk), St Petersburg, but definitely without a doubt – Vilnius.

We are both very happy to be heading home, and only have one major dampener on today’s journey. I am sick as a dog! Full sinus congestion, constant cough and a nose so runny that I emptied a box of klennex within 18 hours! This is going to be fun!!! Here’s hoping I have the energy to leave the airport and explore Warsaw, otherwise our 7h 45min layover is really going to stink.

On an educational point from this traveling nurse, please take note… When sneezing on an escalator, PLEASE sneeze into something – your shirt, a tissue, hell… even your hand would be better. This particular cold is the generous gift of a man on the Moscow subway escalator who sneezed two steps above me right into the line I was travelling. Full face assault of his viral goodness. I totally understand the Beijing preoccupation with wearing masks now.

Anyhoo… time to board the plane in a minute. Klennex at the ready…. home soon!

-Alicia

Leave a comment