1 Comment

Shopping Success

We went to Mountain Equipment Co-op to start kitting out. It was a very successful shop!

Derek got long underware, I mean, a base-layer (new fancy word!) Look at his spiffy self (editted for public viewing) 😉

Derek - unmentionables

Derek is modeling a matching set of Patagonia Carilene 2 Crew and matching bottoms.  When trying them on for the photos, he just about died of overheating! Should be great for hiking in Siberia during the early spring.

And here is me. I’m a mismatched set of: Patagonia Merino 2 Lightweight and merino/ polyester blend bottoms from Costco. Again, edited for public vieweing 😉

Alicia - unmentionables

It wasn’t just a shopping trip for undies, we got shirts, and I got a pair of pants (Prana Halle).

Derek & Alicia - dressed

No, your eyes aren’t playing tricks. Our “shirts” are our base layers, but totally different items when put with proper pants. This will the basis of our packing – few items with multiple uses. On the topic of packing, all these items have been chosen for a few key features:

1) Multi-functionality: wear in multiple ways for multiple outfits, meaning fewer clothes required to pack, but not looking like wearing the same clothes day in day out.

2) Quick-dry: we can’t bring a full month’s worth of clothing, so we will be doing laundry. Being able to dry over night is critical! Because of this, clothing is mostly synthetic or synthetic blends.

3) Breathable, light but warm: it will be spring along the entire route, so having items that are warm, but able to be worn during hot spells without dying is key but tricky!

So far we are on track. More details on our clothing choices will be coming in a future post.

And finally, the prime reason for shopping today… boots!!!

I have had and seen pass on, three great pairs of hiking boots over my time. I have been bootless for several years not. I bought a pair a few years ago prior to going to Germany, but despite hard trialling in the shop and house, the minute I hit the pavement, I realized the boots were not meant for my feet. Even though I had walked outside in them, MEC took them back. This is where my unwaivering loyalty comes from.

After trying on nearly every day hiker that is waterproof, the Keen Gypsums came home. One of our cats, Lulu, had to investigate…

I'm Lulu and investigating

After a good sniff and poke, she delivers her vertict.

I'm Lulu, and I approve these boots!

I’m Lulu, and I approve these boots!

She gives me her thumbs up, so I think I’m ready to test them out. It’s later winter so it is super slushy and damp here at home. Testing perfection!

Boots

Onwards and forwards!

Until next time…

Cheers,

Alicia

One comment on “Shopping Success

  1. […] Feet – sports socks and Gortex ankle-high hiking boots (12+ years old); Bottoms – base-layer and Lululemon quick-dry pants; Top – base-layer, long-sleeve shirt, and a Gortex jacket; Head […]

Leave a comment