3 Comments

Health Status +5

I am the biggest wimp when it comes to getting vaccinations. I’m a nurse. I LOVE giving vaccines, but I hate getting them. It’s not the needle. My colleagues at the office are fantastic shot givers. It’s the feeling of fluid going into my muscles that makes me squeam. And then the aching arm and general “ugh” feeling as my immune system tries to encode some new “master bug files” into their memory.

But then, the thought of getting sick makes me pull up my big-girl panties and roll up my sleeve. I do this every year with the flu shot out of terrible memories of getting influenza in first-year university. So does Derek – though I think after three years of allergy shots, he’s better with immune-stimulating shots than I am. Poor lad.

Today was fun. Not just the annual flu shot (a good idea since it’s is flu season soon here in Canada, and I work in health care!) but also Hep A. I got to stab my husband (he’s such a good sport!). Made me feel like a real nurse again, even though it’s been a year since I’ve handled needles. Great for the ego when he said “Do you even have the needle in my arm?” when giving the first, but then he turns around and says “You’ve lost your skill” when I stabbed him with the second. WTF?

In case you’re wondering (b/c I know you are!) – the Hep A vaccine is actually a pleasant shot to get. Derek and I both vaguely remember getting our Hep B shots in middle-school and distinctly remember the sting. A nurse at my clinic warned me that this would sting, since Twinrix does (Hep A & B combo shot) but that supposed sting has got to be related to the Hep B piece of the puzzle. So, if you’re a wimp like me and in need of your Hep A vaccine for any travelling or high-risk disease prevention reason, don’t let the fear of the discomfort stop you.

Heptatitis +5 Protection

And good news for Derek – he’s up to date with his MMR! So, we don’t have to get any more vaccines until the new year! Then it’s Polio (shot) and Typhoid (4 pills of attenuated bacteria. Joy!)

Yeah! Pretty bandaids for the brave patients

3 comments on “Health Status +5

  1. Alicia… its just a little Havrix 🙂 I also miss giving shots 😦

    Is it sad that the first thing i did when i saw that box was look for the DIN? New habits i guess :

  2. Julie – I think I’ll teach Derek how to give an IM injection and let him give me Havrix next time. 🙂

  3. […] you wanting to hide in our suitcases/backpacks? Don’t want to worry about the shots and other minor complications such as language barriers and visas? Do you not want to worry who […]

Leave a comment